The disabilities, or rather abilities of those in my life

Time… 

A couple months ago I wrote a post about not spending my time and energy on negative people. And time has been on my mind more and more lately. Maybe it’s because I feel like I’m really growing up. Maybe it’s because the kids I work with are growing up. Maybe it’s just because I’m being reminded every day how important it is.

But time. It’s so precious. It can happen so fast you don’t even have the chance to realize it’s happening. 

So spend your time on people that matter. Spend your days, minutes, seconds on people you love. On people who love you back. Make it count. Be happy. Do what you love. Be who you want to be. We only get so much time here, and I hate to say it but the clock is constantly ticking. I try to remember this even on days when I’m exhausted. I tell myself this when Meredith refuses to sleep or when she’s having a bad day and just wants to be held. She’s getting bigger and I only have so much time left to rock her and hold her and kiss her. There’s just only so much time. And it’s precious. Those moments are the moments I’ll remember for the rest of my life. So I cherish them. And I hold her a little tighter. And I kiss her little cheeks one more time. And I fall in love a little more…

So go spend time doing something you love. Spend time with someone who matters. Don’t waste it worrying about people and things that don’t deserve your time.

Make it count. 

Leave a comment